Skip to content

Knowledge Base · Category 14

Backup and restore

3 articles · 1 with tutorial video

TLSPilot can back up its configuration, certificates and further data, and restore them completely or partially. There are two kinds of backup:

Chapter overview
  • Same-host backup: Contains the configuration and the certificates of this management host. Private keys and credentials are only included if you switch on Include private keys and credentials in same-host backups (this computer). They then remain encrypted for this Windows installation, and the backup can only be restored on the same Windows installation, also after TLSPilot was reinstalled with Delete all TLSPilot data. A same-host backup without this option can be restored on any management host. With this option, the secrets of external credential stores and alert channels are included as well, encrypted in the same way; without it, they are not included. Manual backups with Backup this computer… and scheduled backups are of this kind.
  • Migration backup: Contains everything required to move TLSPilot to another management host, including the private keys, credentials and the secrets of external credential stores and alert channels, and the log files, including the audit log, with secrets redacted in the text logs. The content is encrypted with a password. A migration backup is restored only in the Initial Setup Wizard of a freshly installed management host, see chapter Migration or fresh start.

Articles in this category

  1. 14.1

    Scheduled backup

    To create a same-host backup automatically every day, proceed as follows:

  2. 14.2

    Create a backup manually

    On the tab Backup, you can create both kinds of backup. If you have unsaved changes, TLSPilot first asks Save settings before backup?

    Tutorial 21
  3. 14.3

    Restore

    You can restore a complete installation on a freshly installed management host from a migration backup, or individual settings from a same-host backup.